Sweet Potato Pancakes

Long weekends are excellent times for trying new recipes out. I don’t normally have much time in the morning for elaborate breakfasts. Lately I’ve been having plenty of scrambled eggs in the microwave at work. Two eggs and lots of Lurpak butter. So I’m a bit obsessed with pancakes for my weekend breakfast. Yesterday morning I prepared this recipe and I have to say they were amazing – two ingredients. I never would have thought they could be this good, and no taste that much like sweet potato flesh:

Sweet Potato Pancakes

300 grams (10.5 oz) sweet potato flesh*

4 eggs

A generous amount of butter or coconut oil to cook them in.

*I typically roast a purple skinned, white flesh sweet potato the night before, I then eat the skin and keep the flesh for our pancakes. You need to ensure the potato is really well roasted, otherwise your mixture will not be smooth and your results will not be quite right.

Place the ingredients into your blender in the order listed above. Quickly pulse until the mixture is smooth and well combined.

Heat your fry pan to medium heat. Melt your butter / oil. Turn the fry pan to medium – low heat. Pour in generous dessert spoons of your pancake mixture. I cook mine for around seven minutes on the first side. Gently turn and cook for approximately 4 minutes or until they look lovely! Enjoy!

Again I have to sing the praises of this wonderful website. Do try them!

Leave a Reply

