Sweet Potato Pancakes

My first attempt at sweet potato pancakes proved futile. They fell apart and did not work out.

This time I used a recipe which incorporated coconut flour. This recipe from Canada Girl Eats Paleo worked a treat for me:-

http://canadagirleatspaleo.com/2013/09/17/sweet-potato-pancakes/


Sweet Potato Pancakes
Cook time: 10 mins
Total time: 10 mins
Serves: 1
Ingredients

1/2 c mashed sweet potato (measure after mashing)
2-3 eggs
1 tbsp coconut flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp vanilla
coconut oil
cinnamon to sprinkle on top

Instructions

Mash the sweet potato, and then whisk thoroughly with 2 eggs to start. If too thick to pour in pan, add 3rd egg, if not, continue. Stir in the remaining ingredients, except the coconut oil and cinnamon sprinkle.
Mix until well incorporated.
Heat a frying pan over medium heat, melt the coconut oil, and spoon roughly 1/4 c batter onto the pan. Let cook until you see bubbles forming and the pancake is firm enough to flip. Flip. cook for another couple of minutes or so, watching carefully.
Serve with a sprinkle of cinnamon, or a splash of maple syrup for a real treat!

I used purple sweet potatoes with white flesh. They are quite savory – but adding some maple syrup upon serving does the trick!

I double the batter and if it thickens up too much while I’m cooking, I add a little milk to the mixture. I use 1/4 cup measures and cook the pancakes very slowly.

The other thing I do differently is that I just put everything in the food processor!

One thought on “Sweet Potato Pancakes

  1. Ema Jones says:

    I’m adding in some almond butter, plz suggest…

Leave a Reply

