Chemicals, Parabens and more. How I’m changing my beauty routine.

What is that on your face?

January this year I bought a couple of products from RMS. I had seen one of these products on a Lisa Eldridge video featuring Sophie Dahl, who has similar colourings to me. I went ahead and bought Lip2Cheek by RMS in demure at Mecca Cosmetica and loved it. While there I checked out other RMS products and loved the range, so bought an eye polish.

Two months later and I got to thinking about my diet. I put a lot of effort into eating real food most of the time. I make most of my meals from scratch and enjoy being healthy. I had an epiphany – I put really good food into my body, but what about all of the chemicals that i put onto my body every day?

While thinking about this, I heard on the news that Johnson & Johnson, a trusted brand in the beauty industry, was ordered to pay $72M to the victim of ovarian cancer. The talcum baby powder was found to be the cause of this poor woman’s cancer. I did a bunch of research which taught me about all of the chemicals in our every day products and how beauty products are not well regulated! This shocked me. I’ve never thought about it. Now I realise how dangerous regular beauty products are – I can’t go back. This realisation led me to this…

The chuck out.

There are a lot of products in this bag, dry shampoos, olay moisturisers, neutrogena cleansers, hair spray. You name it, its in this bag. My husband hasn’t seen this. He is an accountant, and the amount I am throwing away just might make him cry:

IMG_6650

Its hard saying goodbye to these luscious products. Sigh. None of these products rate well in the safety ranks… so off they go. I don’t do anything 50%:

IMG_6649

Replacing my bath gels with Dr Bronner’s! So far so good. I bought a large one of these. I like it!

IMG_6651

 

My bathroom essentials. I had accumulated too much over the years, as you do. To be fair (to me!) I have been using dermaviduals cleanser and moisturiser for years – no parabens etc in dermaviduals, and it is wonderful for my rosacea. In my cabinet: (left to right) Dr Bronner’s lavender soap (I use this for hand soap), Springfield’s hand moisturiser, Dermaviduals, Springfield’s serum and oil, Weleda Wild Rose deodorant (this actually works!), Jason’s deodorant. Jason deodorant is free of the nasties. I started using natural toothpastes years ago due to an SLS allergy. I used to get chronic ulcers in my mouth (sometimes up to 6 at a time), did some research and decided to try a toothpaste without SLS in it. Voila! No more ulcers! Biologika lavender deodorant – this I fear is better on a day when I’m home or not active. However it has no alcohol in it, so it does have its place in my cabinet for those quieter days! Whatnot SPF30 – this is a little greasy, so I won’t be repurchasing:

IMG_6648

 

My makeup purchases, all from Mecca Cosmetica. (left to right): RMS un-done concealer, RMS lip2cheek in demure, Josie Maran Argan Serum Matchmaker Foundation, Ilia mascara, RMS eye polish in Solar, RMS lip shine in sacred, Ilia lip crayon in “call me”:

IMG_6652

 

Here is the Josie Maran Argan Matchmaker serum. It comes out of the bottle looking white, but you mix it up and it matches to your skin. I have been using this every day for over a week and am loving it. It is more like a tinted moisturiser vs a foundation, but I don’t feel like I need heavy coverage from day to day, so this is good. I’m looking at 100% pure foundation in “creme” as something heavier for going out.

IMG_6653

Yet to buy: face powder (I have been getting samples from Mecca trying to decide which I like), eyeliner and perhaps another eyeshadow. I’m quite impressed with the range from 100% pure and will probably end up buying a few things from that line. Springfield’s body butter.

I do want to keep my routine simple. Its so easy to get sucked into the trap of consumerism. I think these are great items and I’ve made some good changes.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Chemicals, Parabens and more. How I’m changing my beauty routine.

  1. Yay I’m happy to hear you changed your lifestyle.
    It truly is something to be proud of.
    It’s really hard to say goodbye to all those cruel beauty products.
    But it’s so easy once you do it.
    Thanks so much for sharing your story!:)
    I post some awesome Diy’s for homemade beauty products if you would like to check it out.
    Keep up the awesome work!:)

Leave a Reply

