Perfect Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

When baking cookies with almond meal, coconut flour or buckwheat flour, my husband often says that while he loves healthy cookies, they always come out a little dry. I’m inclined to agree, despite using ample coconut oil in lieu of butter.

I have found a fix though. I freeze my cookies. This may sound like a strange concept. Freezing freshly made cookies? Who does that? Alas it works. Out of the freezer comes a nice crunchy cookie!

Last night I made these Perfect Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies and they came out tasting good, but again a little dry. Froze them and they are fantastic! Sometimes I go into the freezer a week later looking for a cookie and they have mysteriously disappeared!

IMG_6706

IMG_6707

These cookies look a little different to the original recipe. This is because I used a cacao almond butter I bought from About Life a couple of months back, but didn’t love. I didn’t want it to go to waste, so am using it for baking. The bitterness in the cacao is perfect in a sweet chocolate chip cookie. I used 1/2 cup coconut sugar instead of 3/4 of a cup. Personally I found 1/2 cup sugar to be ample. I only used 100g of 85% dark lindt chocolate. These cookies are paleo, grain and dairy free. This recipe made 27 smaller cookies for me.

One thing I have learnt from cooking with coconut sugar is that it burns easily. Coconut sugar has a caramel’y’ taste which is different, but I quite like it. This was my first attempt at cooking with coconut sugar. Next time I’ll take the cookies out of the oven before they look “done”.

Finally, at the end of the day isn’t coconut sugar just… sugar? It is. I have read that it has a lower glycemic index  and doesn’t spike one’s blood sugar as quickly as regular white sugar. It is also meant to be higher in minerals. However the studies do not seem to be well referenced, so I’m not sure how I feel about coconut sugar, other than…

everyone likes a treat now and & then!

I would recommend this recipe and will be using it again.

 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Perfect Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Caitlin says:

    I’m always looking for paleo inspo! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks Caitlin! There are so many paleo recipes out there in the big wide world of the web, and ingredients usually used in paleo baking are not the cheapest – I like to keep a lot of what works well and what doesn’t. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

