Baking soda is the bomb

For a few years now my husband has been telling me we should clean with baking soda and vinegar. He has always hated the commercial sprays and thinks I am heavy handed with them. Fair call, I am – at least, I was. Since we were newly married (9 years ago!) I remember him saying he didn’t think it was a good idea spraying all of those chemicals in the air.

Wise man! If only I listened. There was me happily spraying “Spray and Wipe” everywhere like I was in an American commercial.

Fast forward to 2016.

I am feeling pretty happy with my DIY spray I made the other day using Dr Bronner’s, water & lavender oil.

The bathroom:
Yesterday I made a bathroom spray which is made up of 50/50 water and vinegar with a few drops of tea tree oil. I cleaned the bathroom with this yesterday and it worked well. The toilet needed a clean so I shook some baking soda into it, sprayed the water/vinegar solution into the toilet which reacted with the baking soda, then scrubbed with the toilet brush. I sprayed the rest of the toilet with the water/vinegar solution and wiped it off. I was left with a nice clean toilet.

I must add, my husband got home and asked “why does the bathroom smell of vinegar?” Alas, better vinegar than bleach, right?

The kitchen:
I have a shelf in the kitchen where I keep various bottles of oil and vinegar. This shelf is forever getting leftover oil residue on it from the bottom of the bottles. I have sprayed that shelf using commercial sprays, used ajax to try and lift the grease – nothing works easily.

Lo and behold the dirty cupboard:

IMG_6703

Gross! Yesterday I mixed a paste of baking soda and water, wiped it on/off and look what instantly happened:

IMG_6705

I just posted the world’s most boring picture! However I’m beyond impressed with how well that mixture worked. The nerd in me is beyond excited about how well baking soda works as a cleaner!

Next up:
Making a good DIY floor cleaner. I used this mixture the other day:

1/4 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup washing soda
1 TBS dish soap
8 Litres Hot Water

It cleaned my floors well and took off a lot of dirt. However left my floors with a white powdery residue. I might need to use a vinegar solution next time!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

